Valentina Novković

Wrong Roads

Sometimes the heart fills up 
and becomes bigger than a cloud,
thoughts get condensed
into a ball from which mothers
will not knit scarves.
In him, in that heart, 
the whistles of the winds
do not herald rains, 
nor do they send signs
from the sky.
In him, in that heart 
as quiet as the fire 
that the first people keep
from being extinguished, 
there lives a pain painted with a smile,
a pain that is difficult to name,
and represents all the wrong choices
we have ever made. 
Because of them, 
God sent December in July. 
We silently know why.

Fairy Bride 

My mother has been
sowing seeds of paradise
for twenty years
so that my hair smells of hope.
She regularly waters violets,
daffodils, jasmine and orchids
so that my words have an air of eternity.
She clothes me with prayers
in skirts that nothing can compare to.
And I, 
I hide in the deepest
pockets of sadness
the confession that I regret
every day in which I rushed to work,
in which I forgot
to ask her how she was doing, 
in which many things bothered me... 
An confession 
that everything could have waited,
just not her, 
now a fairy bride 
who every time I slip, 
covers me with her invisible hand.

Мy Hearth

Afraid to settle
worlds that only occasionally meet
mix, the vase rejects the water,
the flower is handed over voluntarily.

If the meteors were imagined for a moment
stealing the thoughts of haughty existences,
would plasticine in children's hands
turned to dust?
I admit that I don't like chimney sweeps
that every color turn into black, 
who court the mists by putting out the fire,
I admit that I tore all the buttons myself 
- happiness does not depend on
needle thread and funny holes.
I myself keep my hearth burning.

VALENTINA NOVKOVIĆ (Serbia), graduate philologist, poet, prose writer, literary translator. Editor in a publishing house. Published four book of poems (Timeless 2014, Drop by drop 2018, Riddles of Tenderness, 2020,Poems to the Heaven, 2022, which won the first prize at the Fifth Drina Literary Meeting) and one prose book (Two hours from reality, 2020), Winner of many awards for poetry and prose as well as for translations. The book of stories by the famous writer and translator Rahim Karimov, “Stories for youbg people” Alma, 2019, which she translated into Serbian, received the award for the best translated prose book in 2019 by Literary Translators. Her verses have been translated into 16 world languages, and the book Odgonetke nežnosti was translated into Romanian in 2022 (Leo Butnaru translator, Timpul publisher.) She has translated individual stories and poems of more than 300 authors into Serbian, interviewed all important creators around the world and interviews were published in more widely read newspapers or magazines for culture and art. Member of the Association of Writers of Serbia and Kazakhstan, the Serbian Literary Association, and many associations in the world. Editor and host of the forum “Literary Conversations”.

Leave a comment