Madhumita Sinha

When My Thoughts Dance Feeling Drunk

I must tell you a little secret,
about how I write my poetries.
Someday my words stumble
and my thoughts dance feeling drunk,
And then my steps go tizzy,
And I end up feeling dizzy,
No, I am not drunk,
If that’s what you are thinking,
But I have a strange hangover,
Of a fantasy dream that I woke with
The illusions that I feel,
Seems real to me.
Am I losing my mind I wonder?
Are these because of rough storms?
that I have survived,
I am in some kind of trance,
No, no I am not lamenting,
This illusion is magical,
Where my mind enters a world,
that enchants me.
Am I awake or half asleep?
I know not for sure,
Yet I am happily stringing,
my dancing thoughts,
into verses in my heart,
I am living through a dream,
These dreams fill a lot of voids,
They heal the soul that’s often shaken,
These thoughts are beyond time and space.
And they are the reasons to feel alive on this planet.
Yes, I am living through a dream.

Three Boats ....

I have a few confusions in my head,
That I wish to tell you all today,
There are three boats
for my journey ahead,
Which one should I choose?
One may take me beyond my expectations,
The wealth, luxury and success.
Another may take me beyond the sufferings,
The good health, enjoyment and bliss,
But the third would lead me to my answers
To quest of my life,
To know about my existence,
To know who am I,
through rough battles and challenges.
I would choose one and only one
that takes me to my ultimate destination,
The path I am longing to traverse.
Do you think my choice is right?

Wading Through My  Life ….

In this noisy world
all I look for is some quietude
from the noise outside
and the noise inside
all I crave for is some silence.
The silence without the chaos
The stillness of mind and soul
Within and outside
as I wish to experience
the eternal bliss,
With all the noise around
Yet a silence within
With a perfect balance
Of mind and body
Somewhat meditative,
Somewhat deeply contemplative,
being in this world
Living and breathing
Often introspecting,
Yet remain disconnected,
and detached sometimes,
Whatever it is,
It’s blissful,
Fleeting and transitory,
Wish I can hold those moments,
Even if it’s for a little while.
Now do you know the reasons
Why do I run after solitude 
Why don’t I need any company.

MADHUMITA SINHA is an HR professional with a MBA in HR with a deep love for poetry, painting and Photography. The three P’s are her source of joy and happiness. She is a published author of the poetry book ‘Heartbeats’ and ‘Bits and pieces of me ‘and also has contributed to numerous International and national literary journal and anthologies. She is also part of 12 anthologies so far and is writing for 2 more international anthologies this year. She is a well-known face in Mumbai poetry circles . Besides her passions She is an HR professional.

Leave a comment