Scott Thomas Outlar

Cock-A-Doodle-Do

I confess my sins
not to the crosses you bear

for I have a few of my own
along with a fire
to contend with

Remember when Caligula 
anointed his horse
as a Senator of Rome?

Ever hear the spin
about how history repeats itself?

These modern creatures are of the same ilk -
stone cold, batshit
cray cray

caw caw

Judas goats gnaw
on the tin cans
of their own spiritual destitution
 
Jiminy Cricket

The most impactful question
that anyone has ever posed to me
was when my father asked:

“Do you have a conscience?”

after a substitute teacher in fifth grade
ratted me out to the regular teacher
by telling her that I tried to pull a prank
on one of the other students
while we played during a break period.

Soon after that, I not only
began to consider my actions
from a much more 
morally sound position
while tempering my behavior

but also

went into a paralyzed cocoon
of guilt-ridden consciousness,
believing, in a severe
state of paranoia,
that everyone around me
was thinking
that I was planning
the most horrible
things imaginable
in every possible situation.
 
Sucking Vapors

Back when I was a boy 
riding around with my buddy 
as his dad drove us home from the baseball field, 
whenever we’d pass a cemetery 
he’d tell me to hold my breath 
or else the spirits of the dead 
would enter my body through the lungs. 

I’d play along and pretend 
as if I believed such dire warnings, 
occasionally having to really go the distance
if we happened to get stopped at a streetlight 
situated directly beside a graveyard.

These days I’m a bit more daring 
and open to the occult, 
so as I drove by a burial ground this morning
I took a big huff of oxygen, 
inhaling as many ghost fumes as possible 
because I’m constantly in search 
of the next fresh dose of inspiration, 
regardless of where the energy might originate.

It’s a bit odd though 
because ever since the séance 
I’ve had an intense craving 
for cornbread and black-eyed peas, 
as well as a strange urge to call Frank 
and tell him to turn the stove off.
   
All I can think of now is: who the hell is Frank?

SCOTT THOMAS OUTLAR is originally from Atlanta, Georgia. He now lives and writes in Frederick, Maryland. His work has been nominated multiple times for both the Pushcart Prize and Best of the Net. He guest-edited the Hope Anthology of Poetry from CultureCult Press as well as the 2019-2023 Western Voices editions of Setu Mag. He is the author of seven books, including Songs of a Dissident (2015), Abstract Visions of Light (2018), Of Sand and Sugar (2019), and Evermore (2021 – written with co-author Mihaela Melnic). Selections of his poetry have been translated and published in 14 languages. He has been a weekly contributor at Dissident Voice for the past eight and a half years. More about Outlar’s work can be found at 17Numa.com.

Leave a comment