John Grey

Marathon

It was my first marathon and also my last.
I may have looked the part as I lined up
at the start in my shorts and T shirt
with a numbered bib hung around my throat
but I confess up front that I am no more a
runner than a goose is a card sharp
and I only entered that twenty six mile endurance
race because someone called Elizabeth
was competing in the distaff side of the event
and she dared me to add my sweat and muscle
to the men's parade of running fools.
I did actually manage a decent pace for two miles
but then I walked the news three
while clutching my gut and then finally
tottered off to the side of the road, through
the crowd and into a wine bar, tearing
off my number as I did so. Two Chardonnays
later, I stood on the sidewalk and watched
some of the woman jog by. I tried to spot
Elizabeth but she was buried somewhere
amidst that mélange of grunting, puffing females.
I caught up with her later and she beamed
with pride, having finished the course
and beaten her best time. I asked her if
she'd like to go somewhere for a wine.
But she longed instead for a
a rub down, a shower, a change of clothes.
I apologized for being out of shape but did
allude to some nonsense about "giving it my best shot."
I wasn't fooling her though. She didn't return
any of my calls. I made a vow to seek out
a woman not quite so athletic, one without
courses to finish and times to beat.
Instead, I encountered agendas, expectations
and commitments. And not a finish line in sight.

Bad Boy To Garden Flowers

My boisterous armor drops at flowers.
Smart as I think I am,
I'm no better than the bees,
stealing nectar for my phrases,
adhering to the petal's lip,
the bud's bright core.
A sensation
tears itself away from thought.
How idle does the cadence
of my heart make me?
Long way from broken vase
and father staring down
at guilty grimace.
A distance that can only
be measured in toilet paper
stuffed down drains,
the singed tails of cats,
stolen cigarettes.
The past could play some mean tricks
but the present assembles
half-way down the lawn.
I do no harm here
as robins be my witness.
So a boy is his own penance
but show me where it says so
in the neat-mowed grass,
the blazing sun,
the shreds of cloud in pale blue sky.
Yes, I admit, I stole the dollar from his wallet.
But if this be my confession
then it's money sweetly spent.

Post-Honeymoon

We came back from our honeymoon
with tans and new t-shirts
to an airy and bright apartment
made ready in our absence,
with these beautiful cast-iron columns,
a fully equipped kitchen
with groceries in the cupboards,
a bed with soft mattress,
and a comfy parlor
where we could cuddle up
and watch our brand new color TV.
I thought to myself
that loving someone,
now that we shared the same name,
would be easier from then on.
But after a week or so, I confessed 
to her, “I don’t know how to do this.”
“Good,” she replied.
“Neither do I.”

JOHN GREY is an Australian poet, US resident, recently published in Stand, Washington Square Review and Floyd County Moonshine. Latest books, “Covert” “Memory Outside The Head” and “Guest Of Myself” are available through Amazon. Work upcoming in the McNeese Review, Santa Fe Literary Review and Open Ceilings.

Leave a comment