Fariel Shafee

That Truth 

I want to hear the truth.
I want that woman to beg, to plead,
To say that she is sorry.

I want her full confession.

After all, I know.
It’s too obvious!

Yet she stares at me 
Like a clueless child.
I know she acts.

I’m not God, she knows, perhaps,
And I can’t forgive.
If she says: “Yes, I did it, and your
Plights
Were my own creation,” what really 
Would I have done?
Blood for blood?
Would I want to burn her world, flames 
Eating up her mortal flesh and
All she loves?
Perhaps.

Her life is full of secrets that do not
Seep out of that heart.  She sleeps
With all her ghosts.  That’s the world she trusts,
That’s where her mind is free.

My Silent Confession

I walk up to her room 
In the dead of night, watch her quietly, and
She mumbles in her sleep as 
Though my silhouette is a ghost, a fiction of her
Mind.
I want to run to her and hold her tight, shout
About my sins -- how I cheated, how
I had fallen 
Hopelessly.

“Free me!”
 
She can’t, I know.  That
Bond of trust has a twisted knot, once broken
It is gone, and that freedom is filled with
Empty cries.

So, I run away to the trees, to the sea
Of wind and darkened stars, that
Sweetly devour my confession, until
Daylight brings back time, that
Irrevocable past
Sticking to my flesh.


The Last Confession

Here I am, the Empress of a 
World, small yet meaningful.
I am safe, important and 
Powerful enough to commit
Crimes, some slight, some big
And flee, 
To be unaccountable.
Money does it, and I have it.

Yet I’ve come to you.
A pauper you are, broken down by life, alone in a 
Small room dense with pain, and I 
Beg to you.

Only you can
help, to redeem
Before I die, to 
 Listen to my confession and
To forgive, for what is mine 
Was yours once, and I had taken them
All.

Life was never fair.
Yet I feel I, the empress, have
Lost this game.

Fariel Shafee: The poet was born in Dhaka, Bangladesh, but has been to several countries around the globe.  She studied science in the USA.  However, the arts had always remained an important part of her life that provided with balance and sanity.  In her work, she tries to bring in common human conditions that binds u all.  She also loves to paint. 

Leave a comment