Duane Anderson

Confessions Of A Man Living Dying In Loneliness

Some cry out and damn the world when they feel they have been
           discriminated against,
age or sex, race or religion,
but what of the ones who are shy?
Some have gone to college, received good grades,
but trying for a job and getting an interview they are never
 	hired because they don’t talk enough or don’t seem
	interested enough in the company,
but they are and don’t know how to express it.
The ideas are in the head somewhere, but they won’t come 
	out in a language understood by others,
so rejected, “It was nice talking to you but we have no job
	for you at this time.”
Then what do you do?
Try and try again and return with the same answer,
no job,
and again, still in need of work so one tries for underemployment
interviewing starts all over again,
and this time “Sorry, you’re over qualified for this job I’m 
	sorry, we’re looking for someone who would be
	satisfied with us.”
I am one of these people, very quiet,
and I would be satisfied, I would be satisfied,
but it is of no use,
instead of going up in the world, you’re down another notch,
and now, you can’t get a job at a gas station,
delivering papers,
making hamburgers,
washing cars.
Four years of college, too qualified, not qualified enough,
there is no in between.
I sink lower and lower
and have yet to find bottom, yet I’m getting closer and closer.
There I am, in loneliness,
but others say they are discriminated against,
that they might be,
but this is worst to me
for at this time level you have no one to talk to,
you have no friends,
you die in loneliness.
Others in the city are talking,
but that for me is a hard thing to do.
Yes, I must try, but I need the help of others
but others say “You’re messed up man, I don’t understand you.”
and yes, that’s true, not even I understand it all,
so there I sit, thinking thoughts of committing suicide.
It is a part of my life, thinking those thoughts.
I have plenty of time to think,
that is my life, alone in life, in thought of
what is the best way to commit suicide?
Jump off a tall building,
overdose of sleeping pills,
car exhaust,
poison,
gunshot,
rob a bank and let the police catch and shoot you,
but as always, suicide is thrown away, only to come up again
	and then thrown away,
and then there are thoughts of getting caught committing a crime
sentenced and jailed
so then food, shelter, clothes are provided for you,
no worries of unemployment, finding that all important job
	to stay alive,
no taxes, no bills,
just cell walls and cell bars to contain you.
This just might be heaven,
but then time is also a daydream to keep yourself alive.
It doesn’t exist in reality for me.
I spend most of my time in dream,
dreams of becoming rich,
of becoming the smartest man in the world, equally skilled in
	everything possible to do,
becoming famous, known and loved by all,
but my poetry brings me back.
It brings me out of my dream
	and ends my loneliness.
It is my friend and says what I cannot speak aloud.

Autobiography: Chapter 258

I talked to my wife about
our dog going outside and taking a poop
like it was important news.
That’s what dogs do,
poop, piss, bark, eat and
sleep a lot.

It wasn’t anything important,
but I acted like it was,
like I had just finished writing a novel
and had found a press to publish it.
Fireworks were ready to go off.

There wasn’t anything important going
on with my life that I knew about,
but I tell myself there was
just like the sky is blue
and the clouds are white,
and this is my life,
however sad it may be.

Can It Be Called Life?


My life is lonely,
look at it if you can.
It is not because I am ugly,
my face is okay.
I have seen women look
at it with interest,
or am I just imagining that.
Check my teeth
check my feet
as if I were a horse up for auction,
but I am not.

My health is good,
a slight gut from too many beers
and not enough exercise.
I have looked at my face
in the mirror and found that
it is okay looking.
My manners are okay.
I’m polite,
sometimes helpful,
but I know that these are 
not the things I worry over.
It is my shyness,
and it is killing me.
I need a woman to teach me
to not to be afraid.
I need to fall in love.
I do not need loneliness,
I see that every day
and night.
It has made me cry.

Seeing couples together is painful.
They laugh and dance
and talk and make love,
enjoying each other’s company
while I cry.
If I did not know that
there is happiness in the world,
then I would not want it.
Loneliness is what I have.
Shyness,
may it die.
I do not want to die of loneliness.
let me fall in love
and forget of my shyness.

Duane Anderson currently lives in La Vista, NE.  He has had poems published in Fine Lines, Cholla Needles, Tipton Poetry Journal, and several other publications. He is the author of ‘On the Corner of Walk and Don’t Walk,’  ‘The Blood Drives: One Pint Down,’ and ‘Conquer the Mountains.’

Leave a comment