Ranjana Sharan Sinha

Confessions In Autumn

Shells of regrets
burden my shore;
the sanguine sinks
below the horizon
creating a dusky veil
as restless whirls of regret
surround me--
Gnawing memories
beneath lingering shadows!

Regrets about the time
that flew in vain
couldn't collect flowers in spring
Oh, I might have done something!

Regrets about the heart's
that were hurt by me
I didn't wish to make them sad
Nothing more I can add.

Regrets about not spending
more time with loved ones:
I was busy and seldom free;
hardly got chances to see.

Regrets with a wish
that I had done and
said things differently.
Now I think most intently.

Between summer and winter
Misty dews cover my existence
It's autumn weaving its way within.
But I wish to see some colours
that are still there
ignited for life:
No decay, no decline
And I make peace
with my regrets!
   

Unspoken Confessions

Summer was yet to arrive,
Winter had gone in the hive:
It was a day in February
Never to fade from memory.
Bauhinias on the road were flowering,
The colour pink they were showering.
The soft sunlight in the atmosphere
Came from the blue-sky crystal clear.

You and I sat quietly that day,
Don't think it was a line stray.
Far yet close-- close yet far
A riddle of the earth and a star!
Silence prevailed as words frayed
Within your heart emotions stayed
But I heard your unspoken confession
The crush and the magnificent obsession!

The confessions stayed on my mind's horizon
Faint air currents on a harp Aeolian--
Amid stunned silence came a thought
Unseasonal love the time had brought!
But something touched a chord with me
A human soul deep within the sea.
The pink couldn't perch on my heart
Coz I knew how soon we'd depart!
    

# Nature # Spill Words # Revenge

Can you pin me down
in words and definitions, Man?
From the air you breathe,
the water you drink
and the food you eat--
I freely provide the essentials
of your survival.
I give you trees and forests--
The lungs of earth
and I remain
the bedrock of your existence!
But what have you done to me?
You have indulged in ecocide
exploiting and destroying me
on unprecedented scale!
Your incursions, commercial expansions
and extraction of resources
have nearly killed me!

Now my patience
is running out
and you can never win
against my fury that I'll unleash--
Earthquakes, volcanoes, tsunamis
diseases, deaths, chaos, calamities...
Man, stop your relentless steps
before you are doomed to disaster!

RANJANA SHARAN SINHA: Nagpur, India. Recipient of a number of acclaimed awards for her contribution to poetry, Dr. Ranjana Sharan Sinha is a well- known contemporary Indian English poet with international recognition. She is an eminent author, academician and retired professor of English, S.B. City College, RTM Nagpur University, Nagpur, Maharashtra. She has the honour of receiving a commendation from the former President of India, A.P.J.Abdul Kalam for her poem “Mother Nature” contained in her collection”Spring Zone”. Her awards in 2020-21-22 include: A Citation of the Brightest Honour by Sufi International, 2020, Bangalore; Order of Shakespeare Medal 2021 by Motivational Strips; Best Indian Author Award, 2021 by Critic Space Journal; Independence Day Literary Honour 2021 by Gujarat Sahitya Akademi and Motivational Strips; Rabindranath Memorial Award 2022 commissioned by MS and Dept of Culture, Govt of Seychelles and its journal SIPAY; and The Golden Heart Award, 2022 by World Foundation Poetry. Her poems from her collection SCENTS AND SHADOWS have been included in Postgraduate University Syllabus of English. Her poems, short, stories, articles and research papers have been published in a number of prestigious dailies, magazines, e-zines , archives and journals in print and online including Sahitya Akademi’s Indian Literature, New Delhi. Her poems have found space in more than 45 world-class anthologies like Poet, UK; OPA, Silk Route Anthologies, Egypt, Kali Project, Indie Blu(e) Publishers, USA; Inner Child Press Anthologies, USA; World Poetry Tree, UAE and many more. Her poems have been translated and published into a number of foreign languages like Greek, German, Albanian, Spanish, Polish, Chinese, Nepali, Russian, Persian and a few more. She has authored and published 09 books in different genres and 50 research papers covering different themes and subjects. The books are:1. Spring Zone (A Collection of Poems and Haiku) 2. Midnight Sun (A Collection of Short Stories) 3. Nature in the Poetry of William Wordsworth and Sumitra Nandan Pant (A Critical-Comparative Study) 4. Feminism: Times and Tides (A Historiographical and Theoretical Commentary on Feminism) 5. Different Dimensions (A Compilation of Research Papers presented in various national and international Conferences and Seminars) 6. Scents and Shadows (A Collection of Poems) 7. Rhymes for Children (A Collection of Nursary Rhymes) 8. The Purple Jacaranda and Other Poems (A Collection of Poems) 9. Ek Sita Main Bhee (A Collection of Poems in Hindi). Her doctoral thesis is on “Sri Aurobindo and The Epic Tradition” that covers the exploration of both the Indian as well as Western epics and Sri Aurobindo’s magnum opus “Savitri”. She has also completed a UGC-sponsored Research Project (MRP) on comparative literature. She is associated with many global poetry groups and literary organizations. She is one of the members of the Editorial Board of Our Poetry Archive. She writes in Hindi, too. Lives in Nagpur with her spouse who is a doctor (Ophthalmologist) spending her time in creative pursuits.

Leave a comment