Lily Swarn

To Sit Beside You 

I was hoping the gent next to you would go away 
I wanted to sit beside you 

The silvery beard well groomed 
Adding a dash of intrigue to your distinguished demeanour 

The northern complexion of peach drenched ivory, translucent.

Roller coaster years had sketched, emblazoned and embossed 
Character lines of worldly wisdom 

I wondered if it happened to other humans too 
This irresistible urge to share the same space with an apparent stranger

Just then you turned and your gaze met my startled one 
The universe must have eavesdropped on my thoughts 

The chair next to you was miraculously vacant 
And I sleep walking towards you .
Copyright Lily Swarn 

The Confessional

Emotions 

The shrews that won’t let me be 
Who can tame these irrepressible hooligans?
Making me fawn and ingratiate myself 
Letting me shed my dignity and look like some dumb woman?
Shredding my self respect and mashing my lady like stance into peace meal?

Emotions 

Standing like gigantic sentinels 
over my poor brain and it’s reasonable accountancy 
Urging me to behave instinctively 
and impulsively with not a care in the world 
Carrying me on scented jasmine infused winds to castles of imagination ?
Teaching me to be Rapunzel and Cinderella rolled into one 
Disrobing me of all pretences built by norms and mores ?

Emotions 

Making a gullible fool out of me 
Letting me eat humble pie indiscriminately 
Allowing me to beg at heaven’s doors for crumbs of love 

Stealing my ‘good woman’ labels and prodding me to do and say things I wouldn’t have dreamt of 
if it wasn’t for you mischief makers ? 

Emotions 

Scourging my heart for its inflammable materials 
Corroding my sanity with scythes of silver 
Grasping me by the hair and flinging me on orange embers 
Cheating me of my rightful dues with allures of bliss 
Copyright Lily Swarn 

The Amber Sphere

Ripened with your benediction 
I am inflammable now 

Keep a safe distance 
For I could explode any time 

An amber sphere of throbbing heat 
My limbs are weary with fire 

Let me shed the weight of the world 
And bury my head in the soft Earth

Drop by drop, leaf by leaf 
I vanish into the ether 

Don't look for me tomorrow 
I think I will be gone!
Copyright Lily Swarn 

LILY SWARN: Internationally acclaimed, multilingual poet, author, columnist, gold medalist, university colour holder, radio show host, Peace and Humanity Ambassador is from Chandigarh (U.T) . Books-A Trellis of Ecstasy, The Gypsy Trail, Lilies of the Valley, History on My Plate Rippling Moonbeams, Yeh Na Thi Hamaari Qismat, (urdu)A Passionate Affair with Trees. She won over 70 international and national awards like Reuel International Prize for Poetry, Global Icon of Peace, Sahitya Rattan Award, Gujarat Sahitya Akademi Award, 2020, 2021 Order of Shakespeare Medal. Featured in international anthologies and magazines. Lily’s poetry has been translated into over 21 languages. Best Indian Author Award 2021 ‘for History on my Plate, Lily is the recipient of Chandigarh Sahitya Akademi Award for Rippling Moonbeams. Lily has been recently appointed ambassador of World Union of Writers and Artistes from Portugal. The Global Leaders Alliance conferred Diploma of Merit on her. “For her remarkable career in the fields of letters and culture generating an intangible heritage for future generations”

Leave a comment