Jyotirmaya Thakur

Life's Scars

So many hurts we bear
From corners here and there
As I stand alone in the big square
A truth is revealed as I stare
At my wounds given as test
By those whom I have loved the best.

People who rouse your wrath
Are not the things strangers do
But deeds on whom you most trust
Your faith betrayed you despise
Annoyance in your heart will rise
By aches and thrills that prove
Is dealt by hands that we love.

The sweetest manners and grace
Are shown to strangers irrelevant
Careless demeanour , frowning face
To our own who actually serve
Pleasing the guests is fleeting gesture
As we deal with a thoughtless favour
And take for granted who does most.

We flatter those we scarcely know
And deal full many rude blows
On those who care for us most
We choose to please at our best
For those who show their wealth
And neglect true heart health.

Familiarity breeds contempt
And life's scars are dealt
By folks who give us pain
Sooner or later the fact is plain
Our sorrows and severe test
Are given by those we love best.
@copyright Jyotirmaya Thakur.


Disclosure

I have never travelled gladly
Beyond any experience somewhere
My eyes show their silence sadly
Most frail gestures enclosed nowhere
As I hide them all in unconsciously
So, I cannot touch them anywhere.

I have closed my fingers in a fist
So, nothing near me is evident
Petal by petal opens in a mist
If someone has time to maintain
The hurting words hurled in a list
In anger mocking as I do not exist.

My life will be shut very beautifully,
The heart of my flower crumpled
By harsh cold snow carefully
Descending on my fragility doubled
Nothing can be perceived outwardly
Power of intensity is camouflaged.

The frustration compels me to bloom
Borrowing colours of contours
Of hidden death of their gloom
Breathing foul air of the refused
I do not know their burden of doom
Disclosure is not their refuge.
@copyright Jyotirmaya Thakur.

Confession

A day of joy comes to master me
Fleeting though it's nature be
The wounds inside never heals
It's deeper than the scars you see
The roots in abyss concealed
Bear blossoms with each fall
Who tend my roots with rains of gall
And the prejudices are tall.

Dreams can come true
If patience is your virtue
Birds will fly to where they die
Flying free on the breeze
Across the lands and seas
Caught up in the slipstream
I wait on fate to emanate
Not to see my hurting frame.

I take my chances before they disappear
Opportunities that may never reappear
I hold all the truth in both my hands
All the pillars and their weighty wand
All the winter's that have come and gone
Settling in my bones like stagnant ponds
Black stains rusting on empty shelves
Where the air bereft of oxygen settles.
@copyright Jyotirmaya Thakur.

JYOTIRMAYA THAKUR born in India in 1956, is a retired Principal, bilingual author of forty-six books in many genres with many waiting to be published, translated in many languages and is a co-author in many International Anthologies. She is a Hindi translator for the Ithaca Magazine of Spain circulated globally.  She is a Multi-Genre Award Winner, Reviewer, Columnist, Motivational Speaker, Philanthropist, Environmental, Social and Cultural activist. She serves on various prestigious Committees as Ambassador and Adviser for literary and humanitarian organizations. Brand Ambassador for National and International magazines.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Alby Raymond Parackal says:

    Great Words of a Great Soul ,
    Greatly depicted in touching sound;
    Grand in all aspects of life’s pursuit,
    Grades truthfully projected lively soul!

    Like

  2. Jyotirmaya Thakur is one of the greatest poets in the world, an artist with a great open heart, a wonderful person who works effectively and with class in many international fields, uniting people of art and culture. Global Peace Ambassador, Honorary Member and Ambassador of SAPS Poland. With great respect, thank you for the opportunity to read the poetry of the above with the hope in your heart that its nobility in everyday life will be noticed around the world. President of SAPS Poland Dr h.c. Zbigniew Roth

    Like

  3. Marjorie Noreen Dunai says:

    Your poetry is in its power to touch the souls of all who read it. Your inspiring words, Your vision creative mind is full of Adventures and love. Thank you Maam for the gift of your poetry, that has touched us all may you continue to do so for many years to come.

    Like

Leave a comment