Yioula Ioannou Patsalidou

Won't Sleep

Morpheus has forgotten me again
and I will stay awake
groping at memories
from an old diary.

I will bring your picture to life
I will remember your every charm
every grimace of your face.

I'll detect the tenderness in your voice
amid your merciless teasing 
and far-off faded words.

You like to tease me
You laughed at my innocence
and inexperience.

Once again, I won’t sleep
and in spirit I will be with you
scratching at these wounds, open for years
to make them bleed again
and comforted by the thought of you

I will count the shooting stars
in the starry August sky
and send you wishes
Keep well sweetheart 
I will always love you!

Out Of Tune Guitar

My heart beats like an out of tune guitar
its beating like notes, like a dissonant song or agony

I stammer, I sweat, I tremble and stumble
and a raging sea, sweeps me away on its stormy waters.

And here I am! Climbing your steps,
counting them one by one.
And reaching your doorstep
out of breath I ring your bell.

Your voice is like a psalmody by the cherubin
Its familiar bass tone with pleasure invites me in.
Come inside, I 've been waiting anxiously for hours
you say and place a warm kiss on my cheek.

The memories of early youth, hot coals
For so many years I have tried 
to extinguish them with water.

But this hot wind of today,
this sudden wind relights sparks
long -ignited but hidden.

The emptiness and absences of the years
have failed to extinguish them
as the years go by our hearts will still beat 
like a dissonant guitar.




YIOULA IOANNOU PATSALIDOU was born and raised in Avgorou Famaqusta Cyprus. She descent from the historical family of Ioannis Gonemi. After graduating from Pancyprian Lyceum of Larnaca, she pursued studies in photography and French language and civilization in France. She worked in tourist industry while having her own show on local radio. She also has been a member of a traditional dance group. She published six collections of poems, short stories and fairy tales. She participated in many internationals anthologies and festivals and she was awarded many times.

Leave a comment