Gargi Sarkhel Bagchi

The Confessional

“I beat up my wife”
“I steal from my friend”
“I cheat on my partner”
“I want my life to end”

“I gamble and do drugs”
“I have sex for money”
“I lie through my teeth”
“I hurt people intentionally”

“I don't believe in God”
“I harm others in His name”
“I kill to feed my family”
“I err but feel no shame”

The confessional hears it all
Its wear and tear brutally true
While most leave it feeling cleansed
Sadly, what lacks often is actual rue.

Bold Confession 
(A Skinny Poem )

Daren’t I confess
that 
allover
this
is
that
something
quite
narcissistic
that 
I daren’t confess.

Circle Of Confessions

The earth was candid in its confession that 
It loved the two components of its being equally
The grounded land, though, always stuck by through all
While water sometimes played games and found ways to flee.

Cause often the sun too to Adam’s ale confessed its affection
And kissed it warmly with its glistening rays 
But the evanescing drops admitted they fancied the sky instead
And rose up excitedly to steal its azure gaze.

The bobbing whites flirted to beautify the ether
But they failed miserably in their endeavour to woo
For the self-absorbed sky too in love with itself
Confessed its wanting to remain true to staying blue.

The shattering heartbreak of the clouds was heard by all
As heavy tears welled up and started to pour
The earth soaked them in with arms wide open
As they woefully confessed undying love to it forever more.

GARGI SARKHEL BAGCHI: Gargi Sarkhel Bagchi from Pune, India is the winner of ‘The Reuel International Poetry Prize, 2022’ and ‘The Poiesis Award for Excellence in Literature, 2023’ and a regular contributor toward the prestigious ‘GloMag’ and ‘Our Poetry Archive’ (OPA) international e-zines. A university topper in her M.A. with German Language and Literature, she was one of six in the world to receive a fully funded DAAD-scholarship to complete her second Master’s degree from the esteemed Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich. The thesis she wrote there was published by GRIN publishing house, Germany and is available on Amazon worldwide. A German teacher for over 18 years, she has been pursuing her passion for writing since 2013 and has contributed her writings towards innumerable prestigious national and international publications. Though currently engaged full-time as a tutor with Deutsch Uni Online, Munich for scholarship students from all over the world and as a German corporate trainer, she looks forward to publishing a compilation of her writings soon.

Leave a comment