Liselle Powder

Confession Of The Soul

Confessing to my two daughters that 
I fell for their father and his best friend was not an easy thing.
It just happened like love story. Was I thinking?
Young and naïve needed love to heal a broken heart.
“Mom you not easy,” they said.
No, I wasn’t, but I didn’t care.
Whirlwind of affairs that carried me near and far.
I felt like a vessel, reaching the harbor getting her goods.
Then off to another harbor off-loading them.
Tossed to and fro no ownership.
I confessed my truth, was I ashamed?
As I looked back, I can’t believe that was me.
A stained glass that mirrored my actions.
                            Saw a weak being, saw a helpless soul.
They understood, they didn’t judge me.
They saw me as their mother and loved me the same.
The thing is I lost both, because I figured my self-worth.

He Confessed

He confessed to things he did like sharing,
 his, what God gave him.
The night on the town when they brought him home,
with pee-stained pants and a hangover.
Confessed his night with girls that shared my space
and disrespected my worth.
I kept silent feeling unworthy and unloved.
He confessed the weekend spent away from me,
was spent with and old girlfriend, that
he needed to see.
But I was there to bandage old 
wounds on his foot, that kept repeating.
A sorry attitude turned into a night of passion.
And ALL the confessions came out,
that was the most I heard I love you. I love you.
But that’s what happens when you don’t know better.
Because the same thing he gives to me is 
shared with other others
in bed together.

Confessions Before God

As I knelt on my knees with tears streaming down my face.
My mouth, lips dry parched from days of confession.
I needed to come clean with my master.
I needed to be washed under the blood.
I ran to the foot of the cross, pleading.
I ran to the foot of the cross to be saved.
I confessed my wrongs even the right ones.
A tired soul longing for shelter,
longing to belong. 
I am a sinner, as my head bowed.
As the tears flowed a strange warmth
covered my worthless and stained body.
I felt his presence, but he didn’t care
if I was the mess.
That’s what we are, messed up souls.
Until his call is headed, and we answer.
I answered and my confessions was all he needed,
as I felt his love and peace.
I didn’t care about my mess.

LISELLE POWDER was born in the small Caribbean Island of Trinidad and Tobago. Born to Edwina Warner (deceased) and Bindley Powder. She is the last of six siblings. She is divorced and a mother of two daughters and a granddaughter. Having migrated to the US in 2014, she decided to write poetry about her experiences coming to America. She met with Edna White an Author, and the rest was history. Liselle has written in Edna’s book “No Sweet Meat Tell Me the Truth” and contribute to the school newspaper where she works. Liselle held her first poetry show on July 10th, 2021, she also writes in Ms. Edna’s Magazine called “SPEAK MAGAZINE.” and wrote her first short story titled “Teenage Mom” and her poetry book titled “Still Overcoming”. Her short story “Teenage Mom” together with other short stories, is a combination by different authors coming together for the Anthology “Women Write Now” which was launched in November in 2022. With her continuous writing, she was entered in an Anthology for the months of June, July and November of 2020, also June and July of 2021, and for July 2022. Liselle was awarded the Cheryl R Canton Incentive and the Willie Henry Riddick Memorial Award in June 2021, for winning an essay competition placing first. Liselle wrote another book entitled “Welcome to America,” which is on Amazon. Liselle is also an artist and has also sold some of her work. Liselle was honored and one of her poems was chosen for Black Poetry Day, in October 2022., and the reviews was excellent. Liselle will be honored in August and September at a gala ceremony for her contribution to writing. Liselle hopes one day to have her first Art Show soon. Liselle has come a long way and she strives to be the best of top poets and artist the world is yet to see.

Leave a comment