Barbaros İrdelmen

Quarrel With The Heart

My heart 
I love you 
I promise 
We will eat, drink and merry

I know we are short of time 
I won’t put a spoke in your wheel 
As long as we live 
We will have fun together 
I see 
I understand you my pal 

Okay, 
it’s alright 

You would like to be molded 
With every feelings 
Yesterday was a torment 
Today is a sadness 
Tomorrow is a pain 

Even though you know how it is going to end 
You still desire to have a love 
What you look for
Separation, longing, hope and passion 

You are not looking for happiness 
You would like to taste 
Slavery, torture and so on 

All very well 
But I don’t Accord with your demands 
I would like to lead a happy life 
Come and let us get drunken 
Let us enjoy living a life 
Health, happiness and abun dance Thanks 
Let us go about
Let us make the most of it 
To be together 

You made me baffled 
From me you ask for the things
I never like 

Though sorry about it 
Here we part company with each other 
You cannot make a friend 
Enough is enough 

I am tired of it 
Is it a heart crisis 
Whatever you are going through, go for it 
Let us part company with each other… 

English Translation By Mesut ŞENOL

YÜREKLE KAVGA 

Yüreğim 
Seviyorum seni 
Sözüm söz 
Günümüzü gün edeceğiz 
Biliyorum vaktimiz dar 
Zora sokmayacağım seni 
Yaşadığımız sürece 
Eğleneceğiz birlikte 
...
Anlıyorum 
Anlıyorum seni arkadaşım 
Peki tamam 
Önce yoğrulmak istiyorsun 
Her duyguyla 

Dün azap 
Bu gün hüzün 
Yarın ıstırap 
Bildiğin halde sonunu 
Aşk istiyorsun ihtirasla 

Aradığın 
Ayrılık hasret umut ve özlem 
Mutluluk aramıyorsun 
Tatmak istiyorsun 
Esaret eziyet vesaire

İyi de 
Ben 
Bağdaşmıyorum senin isteklerinle 
Mutlu yaşamak istiyorum 
Gel sarhoş olalım 
Keyif alalım yaşamaktan 
Sıhhat saadet ve bereket 
Eksik olmasın 
Gezelim 
Tadını çıkartalım 
Birlikte olmanın 

Şaşıyorum sana 
Hiç sevmediğim şeyler istiyorsun benden 
Kusura bakma ama
Burada ayrılıyoruz birbirimizden 
Arkadaş olmaz senden 

Yeter, yeter be 
Bıktım 
Kriz mi?
Ne geçireceksen geçir de 
Ayrılalım birbirimizden… 

I Loved

I loved you when I saw you
What if she got a lover
Oh no
If so, I wouldn’t know what to do

When I found out how to win your heart
At the very first chat we are going to have
I will demand a place in your heart

Even though I would get to know the way to do it
How come I would be entering your heart

No, no
How dare I can go for it

I don’t have a white horse, I am not a prince
I don’t seem to a good-looking man
Should I comb my hair to the sides?
Should I comb my hair back?

What if I couldn’t explain my love

What if you sneer
And stare at faraway places
By saying this wasn’t what I thought
And brush my love to you off… 

English Translation By Mesut ŞENOL

Sevdim

Sevdim seni görünce
Ya varsa ama sevdiğin biri
Eyvah
Ne yaparım bilmiyorum

Öğrenince kalbine giden yolu
Tanışacağımız ilk sohbette
Yer isteyeceğim kalbinde

Yolu öğrensem de
Ama nasıl gireceğim kalbine

Yok yok
Hem nasıl cüret ederim

Beyaz atım yok prens değilim
Yakışıklı da sayılmam
Saçlarımı yana mı? 
Arkaya mı tarasam?

Ya anlatamazsam sevgimi

Ya alaycı bir gülümsemeyle
Bu değildi aklımdan geçen diyerek
Boş boş bakarak uzaklara
Kestirip atarsan sana olan sevgimi… 

Barbaros İRDELMEN, İstanbıl
Hekim ve Şair / Physcian and Poet 
diagnomed1@gmail.com

A Dream

I am looking for somebody with lots of Money
I would get by even though I am not in love
Admiring her properties and purse
I can live in luxury in her heart

I would be an admirer in bed
Admirer of her green eyes

I talk her round while sweeping the places
Come on my love, before it’s too late
Let us share the time
Then come and enjoy ourselves

English Translation By Mesut ŞENOL

Düş

Arıyorum parası bol birini
Sevmesem de yaşarım 
Mülküne cüzdanına hayran
Saltanat sürerim gönlünde 

Yatakta hayran olurum 		
Banknot yeşili gözlerine

Dil dökerim etrafı süpürürken
Gel sevgilim iş işten geçmeden
Paylaşalım paranı
Sonra gel keyfim gel...



Dr. Barbaros İrdelmen: Born in 1952, he has been living in Istanbul for 48 years, active in his profession. His selected poems have been translated into English, Greek and Spanish in national and international anthologies, poetry festivals and selection books. He is a member of the Poetry Columnist of the Literature Magazine, the Editorial Board of the Kirpi Literature and Think Journal, the Research and Publication Board of the Papirus Journal, and the Writers’ Union of Turkey. Along with the author’s seven published poetry books, sixteen e-Book Poetry books are available on Google books. 

Leave a comment